Friday 8th July 2016

Our last day at Portavadie and I was awaken about 6am and desperate of having an swim as soon as the pool opens at 8am. Eleanor were walking along from the our room, we heard the howling of Wee Joe. Eleanor sent me on and she went back to console the DUG. I am sure Eleanor was quite glad that she was not swimming anyway somehow!!

I feel that this is the best exercise for me and I have it missed so. After about 30 lengths I walked to meet with Eleanor to have a wonderful breakfast before check out and then make the long journey hone to Chester.

I have been OK with not increasing the steroids and that is positive and although feel tired, the swimming has certainly helped. One thing I speak to the nurse about next week is the tired feeling in the eyes. Do I get eye drops or has the radiotherapy affected the eyes which I will have them tested for new glasses soon.

Driving from Portavadie the first 10 miles or so are ‘passing places’ and Eleanor is now getting a hang at that. We arrived at Kirn, where I used to holiday when my grandfather took a house there, and the views are stunning however when rain is there then total boredom for children.

Here Eleanor is good at getting on a ferry and parking and were crossing Holly Loch where the submarines are based. Arriving at Greenock we had to drive through to Gourock to hit the M8 taking us to Glasgow centre and then on to Carlisle route south. My god the road works from the Glasgow to around Motherwell area and this was stop and start for at least an hour. Not a good start for a long journey.

We had a competition seeing all the ‘Arnold Clark’ stickers and when I remember when I handled the advertising for him his profit that year did not exceed £70k. Now he turns over £1 billion and this is a man who started under the arches after being being demobbed from the army. What respect!!

We did not arrive at Chester until 7pm tonight and not unpacking, relaxing, have a meal and watch the TV and that is us!

Speak to you and thank you for Eleanor for your driving.

 

Sleep well. x

Leave a Reply

