Friday 17th June 2016

Good day to you all and I am delighted that this is the accumulation of the six weeks of treatment of Radiotherapy and chemo and I am anxious to get it over with.

Last night I went to bed at 10.30pm and decided that we must move ahead every day now and I was determined however I was awakened during the night, apart from a toilet, I went straight back to bed. I did the and I woke at a satisfied and this was 5.30am. This was good as I could catch up with some food and look at the emails and at 6am Eleanor had asked for her coffee in bed.

Off at 7.30 and we arrived before the reception but got fast tracked to be the first in queue.We had bought some chocolates and I wrote some hank you’s for people who have impressed us by their dedication. First was the cleaner who has always been at as excellent person who might not seem important but without with her and the other cleaners then this hospital could not run. Thank you for being good and struck a friend in Eleanor.

Then we have the reception where they welcome us in the morning and always smile and efficiency. Not only we have met a few who have been a closeness with us and thank you, enjoy a chocolate and our words in your card especially who is training to be a religious priest. You can feel this calmness in certain people and I wish her all success in a career which she be in a position to help others spiritually.

IMG_0281

Next are the team who had the medical expertise to make that machine,cost £1.5 million, perform to direct at the laser at the tumour and on the 11th July we will see the results. Before I went in, I had one of the nurses came up to me to apologise he would be working at another laser machine and she wanted to say goodbye and this was quite emotional. I handed again a card and chocolates as told her to keep a soft centre chocolate.

IMG_0280 (1)

Had the final treatment I was asked whether or not to keep the mask and I said definitely. This will make a nice artwork on the wall or Eleanor may have some different ideas?

It was a funny feeling walking out of this centre with one person and that was to keep people alive as long as possible and this is includes like the baby we saw this morning to the older generation who grip hard to their precious life to enjoy their family.

We went straight home as I had my friend Steve Jessop, our Community Council, and a very interesting guy. He took me to the local Costa Cafe and we somewhat over stayed our welcome there for two hours of great conversation. This included local issues and how we could improve – anywhere. Thanks Steve for your time and also suggested we post the blog to the Higher Kinnerton Facebook which has over three thousand views and my story me be of interest.

Back at home we waited for the arrival of Elaine, Jason and my grand daughter Eriska. Now I had to pause to think her name and knew I short term was affected and I now know what it might be like when people have Dementia albeit mine slightly.

We opened a bottle of champagne and even I had a couple of small ones.

The end to a day, when I have completed similar, to a school exam and now waiting for the next challenge. I feel so much better and can now plan of travelling with our tricycles and no doubt we will have a great time.

Good night my friends and thank you for staying with me.

 

 

One thought on “Friday 17th June 2016”

  1. What an emotional day and all the lovely people you have met on this journey doing such wonderful roles! Reading your blog reminded me that we should take pride in all that we do. I remember my daughter Meg working in a sandwich shop some years ago and worried what people may think of her. I gave her this advice… not my own words but wise and meaningful!

    Take Pride In and Enjoy Everything You Do

    Many of the things we do and have to do in our lives are things we may not enjoy, things we deem as meaningless. There’s nothing more unsatisfying than having to carry out a task and feeling that it has no purpose.

    The truth is, every action can by purposeful and fulfilling, if we attach meaning to it. Take pride in what you do. Explain to yourself why you are doing this and why you want to do it well.

    Instead of feeling like you are being forced to clean the bathroom and that you really hate it, tell yourself that you want the bathroom to be spick and span. Challenge yourself to make the wall tiles shiny and the place smelling heavenly and be pleased when you achieve it.

    Each of us have a role and each role is important, no matter how small you think your role is in the grander scheme of things. Find meaning in what you do, a janitor has a great role in keeping the hygiene and happiness of the people in the company. Imagine a washroom that stinks all day?

    Instead of viewing walking the dog as a chore, take it as a form of exercise for yourself also. Enjoy the time you spend bonding with your pet; soaking up the scenery; meet people, talk to them, smile at them and cheer them up.

    Every little thing can be enjoyable, every little thing can be fulfilling and happy exercise if you choose to take pride in it.

    “What I have to offer is important to someone, so it should be important to me. I may not enjoy my job at times, but that shouldn’t mean that I don’t give it my best. Being proud in what I do helps me be proud about myself, to be confident about myself and to feel significant”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

