Sunday 8th May 16

Really really really disappointed. 3am and up like a lark.

Tried to read for a while and finish the Jeffrey Archer and I enjoyed the finishing to the novel. I then decided to go through the account for the Chandelier business, Interieurs. I have sorted all out just to put together the end of year accounts. I also went through a file from Wilmslow which had all the original  paperwork. I came across a poem when I was working with the Durham Miners. Hope you excuse this prose!

IMG_0104

During the night I took the wholewheat loaf from the bread maker which I located in the utility. Great smell but I am not too tempted-or NOT!

Need to get to the Mold garden centre and discuss the problem with the plants where the leaves are just dying in the hydrangea and begonia which are most disappointing. Going to look after grandchildren Madison and Murray today for Fraser and Melissa to go to Liverpool to meet relatives.

Well a story, when Madison and Murray loaded in the car and us on way from Wrexham to Mold Garden Centre, Eleanor suddenly realized that Fraser had put on stew and told Eleanor to switch off. She had just remember and had to turn back. I see that Eleanor is easily stressed and I try to keep her calm. I know that all the stress affects her different and I ask her that she will go for relaxation and mindfulness  with me. We are coping that as a team and it is important that we support each other.

The day is beautiful and we go back to home at about 4pm to enjoy the decking and will be expecting our old friends Jim  and Fiona Loy who will be popping in to see on their way back to Glasgow tonight. When they arrived at 6.40pm, Jim had been at a cycle event at Arley Hall and I was shocked that he had just done 100 miles in 7 hours and I don’t know where is energy is coming from. Jim and I went to Ayr College to study building when we were just eighteen and we were both ‘best men’ at weddings. He showed me a photograph taken today with Chris Hoy and I mentioned that I worked for Hoy’s coach. What a small world.

We notice that our pug Hugo has now damaged his rear leg of which thousands have been spent on pinning. We are holding our breath That this is not a permanent damage and what not we need at this moment.

I am now going to relax and I must say- sleep well!

 

7 thoughts on “Sunday 8th May 16”

  1. I have just finished Cometh the Hour by Jeffry Archer Blair , What a story teller and as usual he has left it with a cliff hanger to make sure I want to read the next book.

    Like

    1. Hi John

      Please excuse me for not liking Archer’s book. I have mentioned it on today’s Blog but it may be down to my brain not working!!

      I am so delighted Roger and yourselves supported Michelle at her swearing in. She is going to do a fabulous job and you should be proud for all your support for her.
      Let’s meet soon.

      Like

  2. Popped in to see Graham today. LOVE the chandelier with the leaves. Talked about buying it. Is perfect for the stairwell. What do you think? Sleep well. Remember the deep nose breathing. It’s so good for relaxing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Never seen Billy’s Boys before. Great poem.

    Reminded me of my younger days when industry was in full-throttle in the Flintshire area and raggedy cloth-capped men, with an old canvas bag containing sandwiches and a flask headed off to Courtaulds Textile Works, John Summers Steelworks or Point of Ayr Colliery for their shift.
    Most of these would have been First and Second World War veterans earning a meagre crust to give the likes of me a decent education and a better life.

    I can see my dad now, with his cloth cap, shimmering with steel shards, sandwich bag in hand (with his salt tablets inside somewhere to take for loss of salt due to the heat) heading off for eight hours of feeding the furnaces in Shotton. All this, whilst I was encouraged to ‘get an education’ to save me from the same fate. During that time he lost a leg and an eye in industrial accidents – no-one really cared and indeed he was left unemployed with little or no benefits for some considerable time as a result. He was just another cog in the huge industrial wheel and when he could no longer work for them, they cast him off with no thought for his welfare. His compensation was meagre and as a teenager I recall (yes even in the 70’s) being on the breadline and me having to find work in the sixth-form because there was nothing to put on the table. Those were hard times but good times.

    I am grateful for that push in life and the sacrifices my parents made to ensure that I was able to at least get hold of another rung of the ladder. I don’t see today’s generation having the same compelling reasons for wanting to educate themselves, seeing education as a bore an something they often just ‘have to do.’ We need to get that drive back into young people’s hearts, where they see education as a privilege; a privilege which their ancestors fought hard to achieve.

    Thank you Blair for sharing this poem and evoking those memories in me from all those years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

